Siteground Hosting Review

9.5/10
black Friday banner
75% OFF sale is going on

Wondering how good or bad SiteGround hosting is?

Which SiteGround hosting plan is suitable for your website?

Don’t worry this post will definitely help you in selecting the best hosting for your website. Because here you can access the genuine reviews of Siteground hosting companies around the world from the real people, tests, and online polls.

For more transparency, I will share performance data along with the Pros and Cons of Siteground hosting. So that you can choose your hosting wisely.

Siteground comes with various pricing starting with only $3.95/ month, you can choose the desired plan as per your website requirement.

But before that have a look at a quick summary of Siteground Hosting with star rating below.

Siteground web hosting speed

Website loading speed plays a crucial role in website performance. Siteground has fairly responsive servers. Fast load times even when traffic is high.

4.7/5

Siteground Uptime average

Apart from average time, uptime is another factor that you should always consider. Siteground Uptime is 99.9% so downtime isn't a major concern with it.

4.8/5

Siteground PHP version

For content management systems such as WordPress, PHP 7 has proven to provide superior performance. Luckily Siteground PHP version is 7.3.

5/5

Siteground customer support

With Live Chat, Tickets and 24/7 Phone support Siteground is Beginner-friendly, helpful support. They respond fairly quickly and are efficient to resolve your queries.

4.6/5

About SiteGround

Siteground is an independent web hosting company founded in 2004 and in a very short span of time they position themselves as a company offering high quality, fastest and well crafted hosting solutions.

They make a lot of claims about their fast servers and best in class technology. Because of the following reasons:

1. SSD drives on all plans:

SSD drives are 1000x faster than traditional HDD drives. All the files and databases are stored on their cutting edge Solid State Drive technology. No matter which plans you have selected for your website you will get SSD drives.

2. NGINX server speed

NGINX is known for its high performance, stability, rich feature set, simple configuration, and low resource consumption.

And Siteground uses NGINX web server technology to speed up the load of the static content of all the websites they host

3. Cloudflare CDN availability

Cloudflare CDN makes your website load faster in any part of the world by caching its content and distributing it over multiple data centers.

When foreign visitors access your website, their CDN delivers the content much faster from the data center closest to them.

4. HTTP/2 enabled servers

HTTP/2 is the latest network protocol, which significantly speeds uploading of the website. With the help of Let’s Encrypt free SSL Certificates Siteground will enable HTTP/2 connection to your website.

5. PHP 7

The latest technology or update need PHP execution faster, you can rely on Siteground because they promptly implement the latest version of PHP on their servers.

Tenko Nikolov, Reneta Tsankova, and Nikolay Todorov started this company with a vision and are providing one of the best host service provider.

They have Data Centers in Chicago, London, Amsterdam, and Singapore which altogether host about Two million domains and growing day by day.

siteground data center

Even I see a lot of customers leaving their old web hosts and migrating to Siteground.

You know why?

Because it’s amazing and fast!!

siteground page speed

SiteGround Speed Performance

Let’s talk more about hosting performance in detail.

Speed is one of the most important metrics that you should always consider while choosing the hosting for your website in the first place. A faster website boosts your business and increases the number of visitors by improving the off-page SEO of your website.

In fact, a study found that a single delay can cause a 7% decrease in conversion, a 13% fewer page view, and an 18%  higher bounce rate.

To check the actual speed I created a WordPress website with SiteGround hosting and installed an SEO friendly theme Astra and published a dummy content.

After that, I run a Pingdom speed test and got this result.

siteground pingdom test

You can see, our dummy site loads in less than a second. This is amazing and we should clearly understand that SiteGround hosting is really fast.

I have not stopped myself here and tested our dummy site with traffic, generated by a tool called Loadimpact. This tool gradually increases traffic by up to 100 users to perform a test for your site.

loadimpact siteground

In the graph, the blue line shows the virtual traffic and green line is correspondence server load time. From the test result, I can easily say that if you are looking for a really fast website then SiteGround can be the preferred choice.

It’s not only me saying this, but there are also thousands of other website owners agree with me, check for yourself.

Another Happy SiteGround Client

hosting speed of siteground

siteground hosting speed

Not only this there are lots of people who like SiteGround have a look at Facebook Polls.

SiteGround Uptime Performance

SiteGround uptime is nearly 100% to be very precise it’s 99.9% that puts them among the most reliable hosts. It means your website will work around the clock.

Last 10 months average Uptime

  • September 2019 average uptime: 99.99%
  • August 2019 average uptime: 100%
  • July 2019 average uptime: 99.99%
  • June 2019 average uptime: 99.97%
  • May 2019 average uptime: 100%
  • April 2019 average uptime: 99.98%
  • March 2019 average uptime: 99.97%
  • February 2019 average uptime: 99.99%
  • January 2019 average uptime: 99.96%
  • December 2018 average uptime: 99.99%

siteground uptime

SiteGround Hosting Plans

SiteGround offers shared hosting, WordPress hosting, Woo Commerce hosting, cloud hosting, enterprise hosting, and dedicated hosting.

Don’t get confused with different types of web hosting if you are just starting a new website, shared hosting will be a perfect fit for your need.

Features of the different hosting package:

  • Shared hosting: Shared hosting is a starter bundle pack and the best choice for anyone who is just starting their website. In fact, 98% of people start with a shared hosting plan.
  • WordPress hosting: This plan is an in-house WordPress optimized version of shared hosting to improve the hosting performance of your website.
  • Woo-commerce hosting: If you are planning to start an online store then Woo-commerce optimized version will be a good choice to start with.
  • Cloud hosting: It is suitable for a growing website. Since it allows you to use resources of multiple servers on a cloud architecture for better website performance.
  • Enterprise hosting: This plan is for big corporations that have high traffic with challenging resources. Get in touch with the SiteGround representative if you need one.
  • Dedicated servers: It means you own a complete server for your website and not sharing the resource with others. The only drawback you have to manged the server yourself.

Choose the perfect hosting plan

SiteGround Hosting Price

StartUp

$3.95

Per month

  • 1 Website
  • 10GB Storage
  • ~10,000 Visits
  • Essential Features

GrowBig

$5.95

Per month

  • Unlimited Websites
  • 20GB Storage
  • ~25,000 Visits
  • Essential Features
  • Premium Features

GoGeek

$11.95

Per month

  • Unlimited Websites
  • 30GB Storage
  • ~100,000 Visits
  • Essential Features
  • premium Features
  • Geeky Features

SiteGround Pros and Cons

Pros Cons
  • Excellent Uptime: As we have seen above SiteGround is best on average uptime almost 100%.
  • Price: I personally think SiteGround offers a decent price, but certainly not the cheapest because renewal cost is high.
  • High-Speed Hosting: Because of the latest web technology SiteGround manages to provide fast hosting to all users. 
  • Setup Fee: If you don't want to pay setup fee then you have to signup for at least 12 months.
  • Server Location: They have multiple server locations while registering with SiteGround you can choose the nearest server location for better speed.
  • Migration: No doubt SiteGround offers decent support but migrating website is a bit complex step on SiteGround. You need an additional plugin (free) for that.
  • Unlimited Traffic: They don't restrict the traffic of a website. But you should obey their rules to manage the resources carefully.
  • Advanced Features: You will get lots of advanced features like free SSL, Cloudflare CDN, caching, SSD storage, HHVM. 
  • Latest Technology: For content management systems such as WordPress, PHP 7 has proven to provide superior performance. Luckily Siteground provides PHP 7.3 the latest version.
  • Customer Support: With Live Chat, Tickets and 24/7 Phone support Siteground offers the best support. They respond fairly quickly and are efficient to resolve your queries.

Frequently asked questions

Based on our test and user reviews, SiteGround is more than good. In-fact they host around 2 million websites on their server. So without any doubt, you can choose SiteGround to host your website.

No, However, you can register a domain with SiteGround at the time of registration.

You can get SiteGround hosting at a very reasonable rate of $3.95 per month. Get Now >>

Yes. There is a 30-day money-back guarantee. You can cancel your service within the first 30 days and receive a full refund.

The money-back-guarantee does not cover cloud or dedicated hosting, and there are some restrictions on reseller plans. You must raise your request through the User Area to claim your refund.

Yes. You can choose which of the five data centers that your server is located in.

SiteGround stores 30 backup copies of your website at any time. You can restore any of these for free.

SiteGround isolates shared hosting accounts from each other, which prevents malware from spreading from one shared hosting customer to the next. The company has also rolled out more than 800 custom firewall rules to prevent malicious hacks.

You should also consider a few preventing measures to save your site from hackers by using a strong password and updating your sites and its plugin regularly.

Yes. All SiteGround plans include Cloudflare CDN.

SiteGround does not include unlimited storage with their shared hosting accounts. But the storage space provided by SiteGround will be adequate for most websites.

Bandwidth is unmetered. However, SiteGround has a limit to the number of monthly users your site may host. If you hit the limit on your chosen plan, you will be asked to upgrade to the next tier.

SiteGround offers Linux hosting only. They do not offer Windows hosting.

SiteGround comes with cPanel with no extra fees for cPanel on any plan. Dedicated and cloud hosting plans also come with WHM.

Not at all. SiteGround has optimized its service for WordPress, but you can use any application that is permissible, such as Joomla and Magento. You may also want to use SiteGround’s site builder to create a website quickly and without hassle.

SiteGround offers Softaculous with more than 400 web applications — including WordPress and Joomla — to install automatically.

Yes, with top shared hosting plans (GrowBig and GoGeek), SiteGround will migrate one existing website free of charge, without downtime. This includes WordPress websites.

SiteGround provides cloud hosting instead of VPS hosting. Cloud hosting offers very similar specifications to VPS hosting, with the ability to scale up your plan on-demand. All cloud hosting packages are fully managed.

What People Says

"“SiteGround is a great hosting solution for all your WordPress projects - both new and established ones. The service they provide is stable, secure and super fast thanks to the special tools they've developed in-house for WordPress users.”"
sayed balkhi
Syed Balkhi
www.wpbeginner.com
“As someone with over 10 years experience in WordPress, SEO and content marketing, I know most ins and outs of managing successful websites. I chose SiteGround to host my own websites, and I'm very happy with my choice.”
ben pines
Ben Pines
CMO, Elementor Page Builder
“We keep track of which hosts we get a lot of support requests for, so we can reach out to them. We had a hard time finding SiteGround in that list as we had so few complaints from customers hosted with them.”
Joost De Valk
Joost De Valk
Yoast SEO founder
“I can't say enough good things about SiteGround. I highly recommend their GoGeek shared hosting platform if you are a developer on a budget but still want advanced features like staging, GitHub integration, and of course the SuperCacher.”
Matt Cromwell
www.mattcromwell.com

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *